Don’t Make This Moosetake

Hi everybody!  This is your friend and His, Broose … Broose the Moose!

If “To err is human” then I should have no worries. And I’m determining not to worry about anything anyway because that’s one of the 4 enemies of faith (also doubt, fear and human reason), as you recall from my first blog.

But once when I goofed up, I asked the person to kindly overlook my “moosetake,” a slip of the tongue which of course immediately doubled my downhill spiral. We laughed about it, no harm done.

But it’s no laughing matter when we blind ourselves to really important matters, especially if we don’t even realize we’re doing it — and depriving ourselves.

In the past 2 months I started (harkening back to my first blog) studying into kindness. What a nice surprise when somebody does something really kind for us.

Maybe that explains why in a “Dear Abby” column about seeking popularity, Abby’s advice was “The key to being well-liked by both sexes is: ‘Be kind.’”

In a 2003 University of Texas study of 37 cultures around the world, when 16,000 subjects were asked about their most desired traits in a mate, for both sexes, the first preference was kindness.

Who knew kindness to be so sexy!

But the highest standard of kindness reaches way beyond that all the way to godly. In Gal. 5:22-23 Paul specifies 9 fruits of the Holy Spirit, the fifth one being kindness, which we should ask for daily. These fruits are gifts of the Holy Spirit, not something we can work up by our own human or moosey effort or willpower.

Here’s what I came to see I was really doing wrong: When I came across an article or message about kindness, I would skim it or tune out the speaker. Because I was thinking “That’s nice but I’m already kind.”

Yeah … kind of missing out!

Glen Campell’s 1970 hit song “Try a Little Kindness” included a very perceptive line, “And if you try a little kindness, then you’ll overlook the blindness.” As we have seen, the blindness might be our own! And the loss.

Now weeks later I’ve come to see the error of my ways even more far reaching: I must be on the alert to make sure I’m not thinking “That’s nice but I’m already …” in other areas where change is needed.

May we rid ourselves of such preconceived notions which are worse than a moosetake; they’re delusional blunders that blind us and block personal growth.

________

Fun Fact: The gestation period for a cow to have 1 or 2 calves is 8 months. Before you ladies envy the female moose for missing out on that last month of discomfort, of course her last month just comes earlier! The new calf hangs out with Mom for one year and then goes off to live alone, hardly a lifestyle to encourage growth in kindness. Resist the urge to come chat or pet because invading our space brings out the aggressiveness in us.

Leave a Reply

