Mom Never Made Spots on Others

Facebook is full of Mom pictures and tributes today. My Mom died in 1975 just a few days short of 50 years old. I didn’t cry much then because she was in so much pain and suffering from cancer.

What should Jessie Ellen Curry be remembered and praised for? Far more than supplying me with security from knowing my mother’s maiden name.

I praise her for being hard working, devoted and loving to her family and God fearing. She faithfully loved one man, and her three daughters and son have all lived solid lives without drama and still love each other. What better tribute to Jessie Ellen Curry could there be?

She grew up in a soddy house in the Colorado drylands, ventured to the big city of Las Animas and found work in the laundry and dry cleaners. It became her life when she married the owner.

My mother’s speciality was dry cleaning spotter. She had to blot out whatever spots customers brought in on their clothes and make them new again. Lipstick, blood, grape juice, crayolas—whatever!

Mom tried to keep herself unspotted from the world.

But even more worthy of praise, she never made spots on others.

To follow this Blog From a Bog & have it come to your email, or to make a comment,
please click on the square grid at the top right of my picture.
The grid on the left will get you the About.
Thank you for sharing this with your friends & family! I’d be very grateful for a REBLOG.
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame!

One comment

  1. Broose the Moose · May 23, 2015

    Aww, that was nice to read about grandma. Gives me an idea of her and my roots.

    Like

Leave a Reply

