Willingly Cut to the Heart

We dread heart operations and don’t want to go under the knife on such a life and death organ.

So how could we want to be willingly cut to the heart? Spiritually this is the best thing that could happen to us!

“For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart” (Hebrews 4:12).

A good example? I would have admitted to not being as humble as I should be and to sometimes displaying too much pride. But arrogant? C’mon, no way!

Then one day while reading James 4:13, God convicted me that I was actually saying almost word for word what was written there: “Today we will go to Canon City [my Colorado hometown], spend a year there, buy and sell, and make a profit probably about 40 percent.” I was flipping houses and somehow God quoted me centuries in advance!   He nailed me for relying on myself and not saying “If the Lord wills, we shall live and do this or that.”

About the same time, family members and brethren on different occasions made comments about me being arrogant in some matter! Before their comments would have escaped me, but not when God was wielding His two-edged Remington my way!

Since then I have been convicted to strive to overcome boasting in arrogance (James 4:16).

The Bible has power beyond pages and ink because every word is God-breathed by Jesus Christ (2 Timothy 3:16). We want daily Bible Study that convicts us to do what God wants. And we want to daily seek the mind of Jesus Christ (Philippians 4:5) who is the living Word of God.   We want daily prayer that looks to God to humbly correct us to do His will not ours.

So we cry out like David did: “Create in me a clean heart, O God” (Psalm 51:10). And add Jeremiah’s qualification: “Correct me, but with justice … lest you bring me to nothing” (10:24).

We can trust Jesus Christ to be a merciful heart surgeon because our High Priest came and lived as one of us and knows our weaknesses (Hebrews 4:15). Then He allowed Himself to be willingly lacerated and beaten so we can be healed mentally, physically, spiritually and emotionally. Why wouldn’t we then want to be totally surrendered to Him and to His Word?

Willingly cut to the heart!

To follow this Blog & have it come to your email, or to make a comment,
please click on the square grid at the top right of my picture.
The grid on the left will get you the About.
Thank you for sharing this blog with your friends & family!
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame!

Leave a Reply

