The Weeping Prophet Cries out to Us Today

Robert Curry

Robert Curry

Jeremiah is called “the weeping prophet” though he was rightly
“sighing and crying for all the abominations” in Jerusalem & Judah (Ezekiel 9:4).
If his book were nothing more than good literature or history,
we should learn the lessons from it.

“I brought you into a beautiful country, to eat its fruit and its goodness… those who handle the law do not know me; the rulers also transgressed against me … and walked after things that do not profit” (Jeremiah 2:7-8).

“Have you not brought this on yourself, in that you have forsaken the LORD your God when He led you in the way? … Your own wickedness will correct you” (2:17, 19).

“The LORD has rejected your trusted allies, and you will not prosper by them” (2:37).

“The prophets prophesy falsely, and the priests rule by their own power; and My people love to have it so. But what will you do in the end?” (5:31).

“Behold the word of the LORD is a reproach to them” (6:10). “Where the word of the LORD offends, judgment will surely fall” (Bible Reader’s Companion).

“Everyone is given to covetousness; and from the prophet even to the priest, everyone deals falsely… Were they ashamed when they had committed abomination? No! … Nor did they know how to blush” (6:13-15).

“My people do not know the judgment of the LORD… The wise men are ashamed, they are dismayed and taken. Behold, they have rejected the word of the LORD; so what wisdom do they have?” (8:7, 9).

“Do not learn the way of the Gentiles…For the customs of the peoples are futile; for one cuts a tree from the forest, the work of the hands of the workman with the ax. They decorate it with silver and gold; they fasten it with nails and hammers so that it will not topple” (10:2-4).

“O LORD, I know the way of man is not in himself; it is not in man who walks to direct his own steps. O LORD, correct me, but with justice; not in Your anger, lest You bring me to nothing” (10:23-24).

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked; who can know it? I, the LORD, search the heart, I test the mind, even to give every man according to his ways and according to the fruit of his doings” (17:9-10).

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.   I will be found by you” (29:11-14).

“Behold, the days are coming, says the LORD, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah … I will put My law in their minds, and write it on their hearts; and I will be their God, and they shall be My people. No more shall every man teach his neighbor, and every man his brother, saying, ‘Know the LORD’ for they all shall know Me from the least of them to the greatest of them, says he LORD. For I will forgive their iniquity, and their sin I will remember no more” (31:31-34).

Jeremiah cries out to us today.  His book is not just good literature and history.  Revelation warns of a coming Babylon in our day.

How about we bless God by learning the lessons from the Weeping Prophet!  Who will cry out to God to put His laws in their minds and write it on their hearts?  Who will seek God for His “future and a hope” with all their heart?

To fail to do so would be a crying shame.

To follow this blog & have it come to your email,
please click on the square grid at the top right of the masthead.

To make a comment, the grid on the left will get you the About,
and please go to the bottom of that page.

Thank you for sharing this blog with your friends & family!
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame!

Leave a Reply

