Hip Recovery Unbiblical?

Paul said he presses forward and reaches for the high calling.  One of my four unpardonable sins is to never let my legs go past a 90 degree bend and the corollary is not to lean forward especially while so bending to reach out or down for no matter what is calling you so irresistibly.

Hebrews exhorts us to run the race to win.  Like I’m going to come close to that speed hopping right-footed on my walker. Hah, like I’m even going to walk?

The Gospels warn us to never take our hands off the plow.  No way can I put mine on in the first place.

But wait a minute.

Some of this recovery sounds pretty biblical

Hebrews advises us to lay aside every burden that so easily besets us.  My doctor’s orders are to go six weeks with no weight bearing on my left hip/leg.

And 1 Corinthians warns us:  Let him who thinks he stands take heed lest he fall.  I certainly never noticed how unhandicapped friendly our house is until finding how slippery the tile can be and how what seems like wide hallways don’t have enough room to rotate a wheelchair to change direction.

But seriously, we never have any excuse not to live according to the Bible.  To not do so is a  prescription for disaster and more pain than we can manage.

I’m going to walk as Jesus walked even if for a while it looks more like a drag.  And yes, somehow count it all joy.

Broose shirt finalTo follow this blog & have it come to your email,
please click on the square grid at the top right of the masthead.

I would appreciate a comment:
The grid on the left will get you the About,
and please go to the bottom of that page.
Or email:  robertcurry6@hotmail.com

Thank you for sharing this blog with your friends & family!
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame.

3 comments

  1. dhale3333@comcast.net · May 9, 2016

    Robert Praying and looking forward to your recovery.   Dave  

    Like

  2. stephen mapes · May 16, 2016

    From: The Unexpected!

    To: swmapes@yahoo.com Sent: Sunday, May 8, 2016 5:36 PM Subject: [New post] Hip Recovery Unbiblical? Dear Robert,Just wanted to mention that I thought this was a superb edition of your’Bruce the Moose’ on-line blog… And also that I hope your recovery is coming along well.  I was laid upwith ‘no weight baring’ for 6 weeks as well, – back when I blew out my knee skiing…  (about 5 years ago now). I feel for you, – because I remember how atrophied my right quad had become,after 6 full weeks of no use, and also how painful it was for me to ‘re-hab’ and start working out with that surgical knee once it was over.It certainly has been a long and slow process for me to get my knee back to full strength. Fortunately for you though, – I understand that recovery from hip surgery is a lot quicker and easier,  – certainly hope that is the case for you. Warm Regards, Stephen PS – How did your sermonette go in the PM on UB-7 ?  Once again, I am very sorry thatwe had to leave early…  I don’t like to do that on a Holy Day, but given the long drive home to the Vail Valley in that driving snow storm, we felt that our safe travel called for it –

    #yiv0788561760 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv0788561760 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv0788561760 a.yiv0788561760primaryactionlink:link, #yiv0788561760 a.yiv0788561760primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv0788561760 a.yiv0788561760primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv0788561760 a.yiv0788561760primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv0788561760 WordPress.com | Broose the Moose posted: “Paul said he presses forward and reaches for the high calling.  One of my four unpardonable sins is to never let my legs go past a 90 degree bend and the corollary is not to lean forward especially while so bending to reach out or down for no matter what ” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

