I’m With You

I remember there used to be a comedian whose signature phrase, after he sort of cranked up his face into a spaced-out zombie mode,
was to gush “I’m with you!” 
And then the horrified person would recoil with
“No, you’re not with me!”

I think the comedian’s name was Louis Nye, probably appearing on The Ed Sullivan Show, and though I can’t find anything on the Internet to back that up,

with youThose three words are comforting to me in the Bible

After I read articles about how to ban fear, worry, anxiety and angst from my life, and then go through a situation that causes me all those agonies, it’s comforting to read 1 Corinthians 2:3.  This is the same Apostle Paul who told Timothy that “God has not given us a spirit of fear” (2 Timothy 1:7).

So It’s comforting that even the spiritual giant, the Apostle Paul, could confide “I was with you in weakness, in fear, and in much trembling.”

I’m sure there was many a time  when Paul would have just liked to have chucked it all and gone awol.  But he stayed with God, with His people, with His Church and with His Work no matter his fears and worries.

We know that Jesus in Gethsemane faced strong temptation to let His cup pass from Him—the bloody and excruciatingly painful scourging and crucifixion that awaited Him.  Yet, good thing for us that He was able to say “With fervent desire I have desired to eat this Passover with you before I suffer” (Luke 22:15).

I remind myself of that when I don’t naturally like ceremonies.  I want with all my heart to be with Jesus Christ, His Church, His Work and His people.

Many places of the Bible assure us we are part of the God family—we are with it!

“The LORD himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged” (Deuteronomy 31:8, New International Version).

I want to be part of the five virgins who had their lamps trimmed with oil (the Holy Spirit) and were “ready” to go in “with Him to the wedding” (Matthew 25:10).  To the other five Jesus had to sadly reject “I do not know you” (verse 12).

May I be ready to say “I’m with you!”  And back it up by being there.

I sure don’t want to hear Him recoil “No, you’re not with me!”

Broose shirt finalTo follow this blog & have it come to your email,
please click on the square grid at the top right of the masthead.

I would appreciate a comment:
The grid on the left will get you the About,
and please go to the bottom of that page.
Or email:  robertcurry6@hotmail.com

Thank you for sharing this blog with your friends & family!
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame.

Leave a Reply

