Something Big

BacharachMove over Beethoven and sorry Grieg, you’re classic good but Burt Bacharach has always been my favorite composer.  I’ve always grooved on his hit songs whether LP, 8 track or CD.   I was blessed to see him and  Dionne Warwick live at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles years ago and enjoyed a wonderful evening of Bacharach’s live performance in Colorado Springs about a year ago.  If I see he will be performing anywhere in Colorado, I will aim to get there.

Yet somehow I only heard a song called “Something Big” off the Internet about a year ago.  I kept asking myself how’d I miss that!  It became my favorite on a CD  even over “Walk on By” and “Raindrops Keep  Falling on My Head.”   When it played, I would always play that track again!  In spite of the fact that I never heard Bacharach play it live at one of his concerts.

Maybe that’s because the Internet says the song came from his “Living Together” album released Jan. 1, 1973.  The movie was rather forgettable and apparently the songs also.  I remember few of the songs from it and totally missed this one I now really like.

That’s because the words really resonate with me now.  I was playing the song as I write this and recommend you play it while you read this.

I won’t quote all the lyrics by Hal David so as to avoid any copyright issues but I  hope you are singing them in your thoughts as you read them and enjoying the infectious rhythm  and trademark soaring strings and rousing brass:

“I want to be the man I’m not and have the things I really haven’t got” 

I want to be the man of God He has called me to be and actually makes possible for me to be!  I want to have the mind of Christ and bring every thought in subjection to the obedience of Him (2 Corinthians 10:5).  I want to have all of the nine fruits of the Holy Spirit (Galatians 5:22-23).  I want to have every word I speak be the way I would speak when I am resurrected to be a spirit Son in His Kingdom.

“Something big is what I’m living for, yes, it’s what I’m living for”

kingdom comeI am seeking the Kingdom of God and His righteousness (Matthew 6:33).    I am seeking the things above (Colossians 3:1).  “Eternal life to those who by patient continuance in doing good seek for glory, honor and immortality” (Romans 2:7).

“Why do I go on and fill my life with little things when there are big things I must do”

The sufferings—and even the greatest blessings—of this present time are “not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us” (Romans 8:18).   Are there ways we are neglecting so great a salvation (Hebrews 2:3)?

So press on, forget those things which are behind and reach forward toward the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  Paul wrote those lyrics in Philippians 3:13-14.  Imagine if Bacharach put that to music!

Something Big!  We dare not settle for less.

Broose shirt finalTo follow this blog & have it come to your email,
please click on the square grid at the top right of the masthead.

I would appreciate a comment:
The grid on the left will get you the About,
and please go to the bottom of that page.
Or email:  robertcurry6@hotmail.com

Thank you for sharing this blog with your friends & family!
Your encouragement will keep me writing & you’ll have only yourself to blame.

Leave a Reply

